January 2024

I don’t particularly enjoy just floating through life, relegated to spending time on meaningless things by exhaustion, and unwilling to acknowledge the passing of time because I feel as though I’m wasting it. So of course, the sensible thing to do is to start journaling, I guess. As in, maybe making myself reflect on what I’ve been doing every so often will compel me to spend my time more mindfully.

I figure I’d go at it by making a monthly post chronicling memorable events, and generally stating my thoughts.

So anyways, I feel pretty good about the past month. On January 5th, I went to an arts festival in a neighboring city with some friends from school. There was live music, art galleries, lots of vendors, and even a shibari artist rigging volunteers, which I’d never seen in real life before. I ended up purchasing some cool rings, which I’d been meaning to do for a while.

On January 8th, the new semester started. I’d elected to take a proofs-focused upper division discrete math class instead of discrete math for CS majors (Basically, I chose a really difficult class over a difficult class), and was anxious that I’d made the wrong decision. However, it quickly became the class I most look forward to, and I figured that even if I don’t do as well in it as I would like, it’ll be a valuable experience nevertheless.

On January 20th, I started learning how to crochet, since I’d been considering it for some time. I bought a Woobles crochet kit, and it really is as helpful as the reviews make it out to be. Here’s the last photo I have of what I was working on:

Also, I don’t remember when I started, but lately I’ve been reading Algorithms to Live By, which I’m really enjoying. It feels good to take up reading books again; I haven’t really had the motivation to read for a long time. As for other media I’ve enjoyed this month, I also played Class of ‘09 (both the OG and the re-up) with my friend on VC. It’s really unhinged, and unfortunately kind of does live up to its title as a culturally accurate game.

Finally, on January 29th (just two days ago 😭), my dorm flooded. There was a leak in the air vent so big that the garbage can I put under it filled in a matter of minutes. Less than half an hour later, the water covered the entire hardwood floor in the suite, and poured out of the front door. Because of the damage, my roommate and I ended up being permanently relocated to a different dorm in the building, so we spent the evening moving our things.

See more posts like this